The Sussex Economic Development Action Committee (SEDAC) was founded after the 2007 Sussex County Today and Tomorrow Conference.  That conference focused on economic development and this committee is responding to that need. We are Sussex county citizens interested in taking action to strengthen economic development efforts and bring jobs and prosperity to our community.

This plan is our attempt at a strategy for moving forward. The plan is based in large part on the Comprehensive Economic Development Strategy (CEDS) developed in 2006. The CEDS was an open process that used community forums to identify needs and develop a strategy. This plan builds on the original CEDS and offers concrete direction, including timelines and budgets. Your comments, suggestions and participation are welcomed as we move forward.

  • Joe Conaway – Chair
    Conaway Associates

  • Linda Price – Secretary
    Financial Center Manager
    Fulton Bank (Georgetown)

  • Kevin Yingling Treasurer
    Business Development Officer
    Delaware Electric COOP

  • Scott Thomas – Immediate Past Chair
    Executive Director​
    Southern Delaware Tourism

Board Members
  • Walt Bryan
  • Michael South
    Outreach and Programming
  • Peter Keenan
    Retired – Manufacturing/Labor
  • Ed Lewandowski
    Coastal Communities Development Specialist
    Delaware Sea Grant Marine Advisory Service
    University of Delaware 
  • Bob Ruggio
    Ruggio & Associates
  • Ernie Felici, Jr. 
    Commercial Real Estate Brokerage
    Cushman & Wakefield of Delaware, Inc.
  • Chris Weeks
    Business Development Manager
    Becker Morgan
  • Lillian Harrison
    Executive Director
  • Dean Holden
    Business Development Officer
    Choptank Electric
  • David Root
    University of Delaware Small Business Development Center
Ex Officio Board Members
  • Trisha Newcommer
    Economic Development Manager
    City of Seaford, Delaware
  • William Pfaff
    Sussex County Economic Development Director
  • Bill West
    Mayor of Georgetown, SCAT
  • Bob Wheatly
    Sussex County Planning and Zoning
Committee Chairs
  • Nicole Minni
    Associate Policy Scientist (GIS/graphics specialist)
    University of Delaware, Water Resources Center